HRAFF – helps to create enduring change, putting a human face and story to some of the important moral issues of our time.

Our flagship event, the 2018 HRAFF Gala will be held at Red Scooter from 7pm on Thursday 31 May for what promises to be a wonderful night of cocktails, canapés and entertainment. The event will feature a curated selection of our favourite shorts from this year’s program, as well as amazing prizes at a live auction and an art sale that will include works by some of Australia’s premier artists. Our MC for the evening will be the wonderful Wendy Tuohy.

Short Films

This year’s short films focus on a variety of human rights issues that affect many people in our community. Each of the films encourage us to view people and situations with an open mind, compassion and empathy. You will be moved, inspired and enlightened.

MC Wendy Tuohy

This year we are honoured to have Wendy Tuohy as Special Guest MC. Wendy is a respected journalist for the Herald Sun, ABC and feature writer across other television and print media. She is also a prominent and passionate supporter of human rights across Australia.

Jason Ball
We are thrilled to have Jason Ball as a special guest. Jason is a pioneering LGBTI advocate who after coming out in 2012 used this platform to challenge homophobia in sport and drive cultural change within the AFL. Since taking that stand, Jason has become a national figurehead on combating homophobia in sport and highlighting the damaging impact of discrimination on the mental health and wellbeing of the LGBTI community.

When: Thursday 31 May 2018                                      Where: Red Scooter - 25 Williams St, Balaclava
Time: 7pm

Purchase Tickets Here


Silent Auction

This year’s Silent Auction features a line up of coveted items from some of Melbourne’s most exclusive brands and retail outlets.


Gala Committee

Caz Krohn (Chair)
Lou Hackett (Chair)
Sheree Ford
Andy Webster
Jeanine Froomes
Cathy Mulcahy
Claudia Craig
Lisa Parker
Gabrielle Cummins
Abigail Hand

Gala Ambassadors

Sally Webster
Mim Bartlett
Madeline Grummet
Eleanor Langford
Celia Burrell
Sarah Gorman
Bev Whelan
Sarah Low
Eva Alexiadis
Sheree Rubinstein
Jane Lechte
Kate O'Brien
Nicole Cullen
Sarah Milledge
Elli Walker

Spread the Word & Share

Subscribe To Our Newsletter